What is the eligibility for AWS?


Amazon Web Services (AWS) offers a wide range of certifications designed to validate your skills and knowledge in cloud computing. Whether you are a seasoned IT professional or just starting your career, AWS certifications can be a valuable asset. However, to pursue these certifications, there are certain eligibility requirements you must meet. In this article, we will explore What is the eligibility for AWS certifications?

  1. Prerequisites Vary by Certification

AWS offers certifications at different levels, each catering to specific roles and skillsets. The primary certification categories include:

  • Foundational
  • Associate
  • Professional
  • Specialty

Each certification within these categories may have its own prerequisites. Generally, Foundational certifications do not have prerequisites and serve as entry-level certifications, while Associate, Professional, and Specialty certifications require more experience and knowledge.

  1. Foundational Certifications

Foundational certifications are ideal for individuals who are new to AWS or cloud computing in general. As of my last update in September 2021, the AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner was the primary certification in this category. There are no prerequisites for this certification, making it accessible to beginners.

  1. Associate Certifications

Associate-level certifications, such as AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate and AWS Certified Developer – Associate, typically require some prior experience with AWS services and a basic understanding of cloud concepts. As of my last update, AWS recommended having at least six months to one year of hands-on experience before attempting an Associate-level certification.

  1. Professional Certifications

Professional-level certifications, such as AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Professional and AWS Certified DevOps Engineer – Professional, are intended for individuals with extensive AWS experience. To be eligible for these certifications, AWS recommends having at least two years of experience working with AWS solutions and services.

  1. Specialty Certifications

Specialty certifications are tailored for professionals who want to specialize in specific areas of AWS. Examples include AWS Certified Security – Specialty and AWS Certified Machine Learning – Specialty. Eligibility requirements for these certifications may vary, but they generally expect candidates to have in-depth knowledge and experience in the relevant domain.

  1. Exam Registration and Preparation

Once you meet the eligibility requirements for your desired certification, you can register for the exam through the AWS Certification portal. To prepare effectively, consider using AWS documentation, online courses, practice exams, and hands-on experience with AWS services. AWS also offers official training courses and workshops to help you prepare for the exams.


AWS certifications are valuable credentials that can enhance your career prospects in the rapidly evolving field of cloud computing. However, it’s essential to understand the eligibility requirements for each certification level and ensure you have the necessary knowledge and experience before attempting the exams. As AWS continually updates its certification offerings, it’s advisable to check the AWS website or contact AWS directly for the most up-to-date information on certification eligibility criteria.